Living in Japan Cost

Japan government fees database

Last checked: 2026-11-06

Search what foreign residents pay for common procedures in Japan. Each row shows the fee, how you pay or apply, how firmly we could confirm it, and the page we took it from. Fees were read on November 6, 2026.

43 entries

ProcedureOptionHowFeeEvidenceCaveat or conditionSource
Change of status or extension of stay3 months or less grantedAt the counter10,000 yenOfficial pageSince October 1, 2026. Before that date: 6,000 yen.Immigration fee poster
Change of status or extension of stayOver 3 months, up to 6 months grantedAt the counter18,000 yenOfficial pageSince October 1, 2026. Before that date: 6,000 yen.Immigration fee poster
Change of status or extension of stayOver 6 months, under 1 year grantedAt the counter25,000 yenOfficial pageSince October 1, 2026. Before that date: 6,000 yen.Immigration fee poster
Change of status or extension of stay1 year grantedAt the counter33,000 yenOfficial pageSince October 1, 2026. Before that date: 6,000 yen.Immigration fee poster
Change of status or extension of stayOver 1 year, under 3 years grantedAt the counter48,000 yenOfficial pageSince October 1, 2026. Before that date: 6,000 yen.Immigration fee poster
Change of status or extension of stay3 years or more, under 5 years grantedAt the counter64,000 yenOfficial pageSince October 1, 2026. Before that date: 6,000 yen.Immigration fee poster
Change of status or extension of stay5 years or more grantedAt the counter75,000 yenOfficial pageSince October 1, 2026. Before that date: 6,000 yen.Immigration fee poster
Change of status or extension of stay3 months or less grantedOnline10,330 yen total: 10,000 yen fee + 330 yen transaction feeOfficial pageSince October 1, 2026. Before that date: 5,500 yen online. Pay by convenience store or bank payment.Immigration online fees
Change of status or extension of stayOver 3 months, up to 6 months grantedOnline15,330 yen total: 15,000 yen fee + 330 yen transaction feeOfficial pageSince October 1, 2026. Before that date: 5,500 yen online. Pay by convenience store or bank payment.Immigration online fees
Change of status or extension of stayOver 6 months, under 1 year grantedOnline21,330 yen total: 21,000 yen fee + 330 yen transaction feeOfficial pageSince October 1, 2026. Before that date: 5,500 yen online. Pay by convenience store or bank payment.Immigration online fees
Change of status or extension of stay1 year grantedOnline27,330 yen total: 27,000 yen fee + 330 yen transaction feeOfficial pageSince October 1, 2026. Before that date: 5,500 yen online. Pay by convenience store or bank payment.Immigration online fees
Change of status or extension of stayOver 1 year, under 3 years grantedOnline42,330 yen total: 42,000 yen fee + 330 yen transaction feeOfficial pageSince October 1, 2026. Before that date: 5,500 yen online. Pay by convenience store or bank payment.Immigration online fees
Change of status or extension of stay3 years or more, under 5 years grantedOnline56,550 yen total: 56,000 yen fee + 550 yen transaction feeOfficial pageSince October 1, 2026. Before that date: 5,500 yen online. Pay by convenience store or bank payment.Immigration online fees
Change of status or extension of stay5 years or more grantedOnline65,550 yen total: 65,000 yen fee + 550 yen transaction feeOfficial pageSince October 1, 2026. Before that date: 5,500 yen online. Pay by convenience store or bank payment.Immigration online fees
Change of status or extension of stay, reduced feeHardship and humanitarian needAt the counter10,000 yenOfficial pageOnly for some people. The agency says two conditions apply together: hardship comparable to people eligible for public assistance, and a humanitarian need to stay in Japan. The online system does not support it.Immigration fee Q and A
Permanent residenceStandard feeAt the counter200,000 yenOfficial pageSince October 1, 2026. Before that date: 10,000 yen.Immigration fee poster
Permanent residenceStandard feeOnlineNo online fee: not on the agency's online listOfficial pageThe agency's list of online procedures, dated January 5, 2026, does not include permanent residence. The poster gives a counter fee only, and the online fee page gives no permanent residence amount.Immigration online scope
Permanent residence, reduced feeHardship and humanitarian needAt the counter20,000 yenOfficial pageLimited to spouses or children of Japanese nationals, permanent residents or special permanent residents, who also meet the hardship and humanitarian conditions. The online system does not support it.Immigration fee Q and A
Naturalization applicationGovernment feeLegal Affairs BureauNoneOfficial pageThe application itself is free. We did not verify the cost of documents, translations or professional help, so the total cost is unknown.Ministry of Justice
Re-entry permitSingleAt the counter4,000 yenOfficial pageListed on the agency's procedure page.Immigration re-entry permit
Re-entry permitMultipleAt the counter7,000 yenOfficial pageListed on the agency's procedure page.Immigration re-entry permit
Re-entry permitSingleOnline3,720 yen total: 3,500 yen fee + 220 yen transaction feeOfficial pageYou can file online only together with a change of status, an extension of stay or an acquisition of status.Immigration online fees
Re-entry permitMultipleOnline6,720 yen total: 6,500 yen fee + 220 yen transaction feeOfficial pageYou can file online only together with a change of status, an extension of stay or an acquisition of status.Immigration online fees
Special re-entryReturn within the limitAt departureNone listed on the agency's pageOfficial pageNo advance application. See the rules for who cannot use it.Immigration special re-entry
Certificate of authorized employmentStandard feeOnline1,820 yen total: 1,600 yen fee + 220 yen transaction feeOfficial pageWe did not confirm the counter fee.Immigration online fees
Specified residence cardWithout electronic certificateImmigration or city office2,500 yen by our sum: 1,900 yen + 600 yen for J-LISOfficial pageNo fee applies in many cases, so check yours. If a city office arranges direct delivery, the agency fee is 2,600 yen, not 1,900 yen. Not available online.Immigration specified card
Specified residence cardWith electronic certificateImmigration or city office2,700 yen: 1,900 yen + 800 yen for J-LISOfficial pageNo fee applies in many cases, so check yours. The J-LIS notice splits its 800 yen into 600 yen for the My Number function and 200 yen for the certificate. With direct delivery arranged by a city office, it gives 3,400 yen in total. Not available online.J-LIS fee notice
My Number CardFirst cardOnline, by mail or city officeFreeOfficial pageDigital Agency, Gifu City and the official site's FAQ say free. Our reading tool reported a 1,000 yen issue fee on the official site's front page, which the FAQ contradicts, so we use free.Digital Agency
My Number CardRenewal of the card or certificateNot statedFreeOfficial pageFor most foreign residents the card ends with your period of stay, so plan to update it.Digital Agency
My Number CardReissue, such as a lost cardNot stated800 yen, plus 200 yen for the certificateOfficial pageThe official site's Japanese FAQ says a reissue for loss or damage is charged, and sends you to your city for the amount. Kobe, Inagi and Tsukuba all show 800 yen + 200 yen. Kobe lists free cases and an express fee of 1,800 yen + 200 yen.Kobe City
My Number CardReissue after the card lapsesNot stated1,000 yenSources conflictOtaru City. This may be the same charge as 800 yen + 200 yen. The official site's FAQ says reissue is free if validity has expired. Ask your city office.Otaru City
My Number CardRenewal at expiry or unavoidable reissueNot statedFree. A reissue for loss or damage is charged.Official pageFrom the official site's Japanese FAQ. For a foreign resident's card that lapsed, see the Otaru row, which still differs.My Number Card FAQ (Japanese)
Foreign license conversion, applicationOrdinary carAt the test center2,500 yenOfficial pageTokyo, Yamaguchi, Tottori and Nagano agree. Fees are set locally. Osaka, Kanagawa and Hokkaido pages give no amounts. A search excerpt of older Yamaguchi and Wakayama material showed 2,200 yen.Tokyo Metropolitan Police
Foreign license conversion, applicationLarge, medium or semi-mediumAt the test center3,900 yenOfficial pageTokyo and Yamaguchi list this. Fees are set locally, so ask your test center.Tokyo Metropolitan Police
Foreign license conversion, applicationMopedAt the test center1,600 yenOfficial pageTokyo lists this. Yamaguchi lists the same fee for mopeds and small special licenses.Tokyo Metropolitan Police
Foreign license conversion, applicationOther typesAt the test center2,800 yenOfficial pageTokyo and Yamaguchi list this. Fees are set locally, so ask your test center.Tokyo Metropolitan Police
Foreign license conversion, extra typeEach additional license typeAt the test center200 yenOfficial pageYamaguchi says each additional type when applying for two or more. Tokyo lists 200 yen as an endorsement fee.Yamaguchi Police
Foreign license conversion, issuanceLicense cardAt the test center2,350 yenOfficial pageTokyo, Yamaguchi, Gifu, Tottori and Nagano agree.Tokyo Metropolitan Police
Foreign license conversion, issuanceOn a My Number Card onlyAt the test center1,550 yenOfficial pageYamaguchi, May 2026. We found this on no other police page, so ask your test center.Yamaguchi Police
Foreign license conversion, issuanceBoth cardsAt the test center2,450 yenOfficial pageYamaguchi, May 2026. We found this on no other police page, so ask your test center.Yamaguchi Police
Foreign license conversion, vehicle useIf tests are needed, Aichi and GifuAt the test center800 yen, making 3,300 yen with the 2,500 yen application feeOfficial pageAichi's July 2026 guide shows 2,500 yen + 800 yen = 3,300 yen for an ordinary car. Gifu's April 2026 page shows the same 3,300 yen total with vehicle use, so 3,300 yen is not added on top of 2,500 yen.Aichi Police
Foreign license conversion, vehicle useIf tests are needed, TottoriAt the test center1,750 yenSources conflictThe Tottori page is undated and lists this under ordinary cars. Aichi and Gifu show 800 yen for an ordinary car, and Aichi lists 1,750 yen for other license types. Ask your test center.Tottori Prefecture
Japanese license translation, JAFFor conversionNot stated6,600 yen with taxOfficial pageNot a government fee. JAF's notice gives 6,600 yen for conversion from July 1, 2026, and 6,000 yen before that. Other translators may be accepted. Check before you pay.JAF notice

Download this data as JSON

How to read this data

Worked example

You extend your stay, are granted 3 years, and want a multiple re-entry permit. These sums are our own.

ItemAt the counterOnline, filed together
Extension, 3 years granted64,000 yen56,550 yen
Multiple re-entry permit7,000 yen6,720 yen
Total71,000 yen63,270 yen

The online column adds both listed transaction fees. We did not confirm how they apply when two applications are filed together.

For an ordinary car license with the tests waived, 2,500 + 2,350 + 6,600 gives 11,450 yen. That includes JAF's translation fee. A reduced fee, a different prefecture or a retest would change these sums.

What it leaves out

Read the full rules in our guides to visa fees, naturalization and permanent residence, re-entry permits, license conversion and the My Number Card. To budget for these fees, use the first-year cost calculator.

This page is general information, not legal advice. A fee listed here does not mean you qualify for the procedure. Check the official page before you pay.