{
  "title": "Japan government fees for foreign residents",
  "checked": "2026-11-06",
  "policy": "Compiled from the official pages listed for each row. Amounts include what the row says they include. The evidence column shows how firmly we could confirm each figure. Check the official page before you pay.",
  "columns": [
    {"key": "procedure", "label": "Procedure"},
    {"key": "option", "label": "Option"},
    {"key": "method", "label": "How"},
    {"key": "fee", "label": "Fee"},
    {"key": "evidence", "label": "Evidence"},
    {"key": "note", "label": "Caveat or condition"}
  ],
  "filters": [
    {"key": "area", "label": "Area"},
    {"key": "method", "label": "How"},
    {"key": "evidence", "label": "Evidence"}
  ],
  "rows": [
    {"area": "Visa and residence", "procedure": "Change of status or extension of stay", "option": "3 months or less granted", "method": "At the counter", "fee": "10,000 yen", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Since October 1, 2026. Before that date: 6,000 yen.", "article": "residence-card-visa-fees", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/content/001469199.pdf", "sourceLabel": "Immigration fee poster"},
    {"area": "Visa and residence", "procedure": "Change of status or extension of stay", "option": "Over 3 months, up to 6 months granted", "method": "At the counter", "fee": "18,000 yen", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Since October 1, 2026. Before that date: 6,000 yen.", "article": "residence-card-visa-fees", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/content/001469199.pdf", "sourceLabel": "Immigration fee poster"},
    {"area": "Visa and residence", "procedure": "Change of status or extension of stay", "option": "Over 6 months, under 1 year granted", "method": "At the counter", "fee": "25,000 yen", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Since October 1, 2026. Before that date: 6,000 yen.", "article": "residence-card-visa-fees", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/content/001469199.pdf", "sourceLabel": "Immigration fee poster"},
    {"area": "Visa and residence", "procedure": "Change of status or extension of stay", "option": "1 year granted", "method": "At the counter", "fee": "33,000 yen", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Since October 1, 2026. Before that date: 6,000 yen.", "article": "residence-card-visa-fees", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/content/001469199.pdf", "sourceLabel": "Immigration fee poster"},
    {"area": "Visa and residence", "procedure": "Change of status or extension of stay", "option": "Over 1 year, under 3 years granted", "method": "At the counter", "fee": "48,000 yen", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Since October 1, 2026. Before that date: 6,000 yen.", "article": "residence-card-visa-fees", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/content/001469199.pdf", "sourceLabel": "Immigration fee poster"},
    {"area": "Visa and residence", "procedure": "Change of status or extension of stay", "option": "3 years or more, under 5 years granted", "method": "At the counter", "fee": "64,000 yen", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Since October 1, 2026. Before that date: 6,000 yen.", "article": "residence-card-visa-fees", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/content/001469199.pdf", "sourceLabel": "Immigration fee poster"},
    {"area": "Visa and residence", "procedure": "Change of status or extension of stay", "option": "5 years or more granted", "method": "At the counter", "fee": "75,000 yen", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Since October 1, 2026. Before that date: 6,000 yen.", "article": "residence-card-visa-fees", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/content/001469199.pdf", "sourceLabel": "Immigration fee poster"},
    {"area": "Visa and residence", "procedure": "Change of status or extension of stay", "option": "3 months or less granted", "method": "Online", "fee": "10,330 yen total: 10,000 yen fee + 330 yen transaction fee", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Since October 1, 2026. Before that date: 5,500 yen online. Pay by convenience store or bank payment.", "article": "residence-card-visa-fees", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/11_00107.html", "sourceLabel": "Immigration online fees"},
    {"area": "Visa and residence", "procedure": "Change of status or extension of stay", "option": "Over 3 months, up to 6 months granted", "method": "Online", "fee": "15,330 yen total: 15,000 yen fee + 330 yen transaction fee", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Since October 1, 2026. Before that date: 5,500 yen online. Pay by convenience store or bank payment.", "article": "residence-card-visa-fees", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/11_00107.html", "sourceLabel": "Immigration online fees"},
    {"area": "Visa and residence", "procedure": "Change of status or extension of stay", "option": "Over 6 months, under 1 year granted", "method": "Online", "fee": "21,330 yen total: 21,000 yen fee + 330 yen transaction fee", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Since October 1, 2026. Before that date: 5,500 yen online. Pay by convenience store or bank payment.", "article": "residence-card-visa-fees", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/11_00107.html", "sourceLabel": "Immigration online fees"},
    {"area": "Visa and residence", "procedure": "Change of status or extension of stay", "option": "1 year granted", "method": "Online", "fee": "27,330 yen total: 27,000 yen fee + 330 yen transaction fee", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Since October 1, 2026. Before that date: 5,500 yen online. Pay by convenience store or bank payment.", "article": "residence-card-visa-fees", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/11_00107.html", "sourceLabel": "Immigration online fees"},
    {"area": "Visa and residence", "procedure": "Change of status or extension of stay", "option": "Over 1 year, under 3 years granted", "method": "Online", "fee": "42,330 yen total: 42,000 yen fee + 330 yen transaction fee", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Since October 1, 2026. Before that date: 5,500 yen online. Pay by convenience store or bank payment.", "article": "residence-card-visa-fees", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/11_00107.html", "sourceLabel": "Immigration online fees"},
    {"area": "Visa and residence", "procedure": "Change of status or extension of stay", "option": "3 years or more, under 5 years granted", "method": "Online", "fee": "56,550 yen total: 56,000 yen fee + 550 yen transaction fee", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Since October 1, 2026. Before that date: 5,500 yen online. Pay by convenience store or bank payment.", "article": "residence-card-visa-fees", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/11_00107.html", "sourceLabel": "Immigration online fees"},
    {"area": "Visa and residence", "procedure": "Change of status or extension of stay", "option": "5 years or more granted", "method": "Online", "fee": "65,550 yen total: 65,000 yen fee + 550 yen transaction fee", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Since October 1, 2026. Before that date: 5,500 yen online. Pay by convenience store or bank payment.", "article": "residence-card-visa-fees", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/11_00107.html", "sourceLabel": "Immigration online fees"},
    {"area": "Visa and residence", "procedure": "Change of status or extension of stay, reduced fee", "option": "Hardship and humanitarian need", "method": "At the counter", "fee": "10,000 yen", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Only for some people. The agency says two conditions apply together: hardship comparable to people eligible for public assistance, and a humanitarian need to stay in Japan. The online system does not support it.", "article": "residence-card-visa-fees", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/applications/faq/01_00650.html", "sourceLabel": "Immigration fee Q and A"},
    {"area": "Permanent residence", "procedure": "Permanent residence", "option": "Standard fee", "method": "At the counter", "fee": "200,000 yen", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Since October 1, 2026. Before that date: 10,000 yen.", "article": "japan-naturalization-fee-vs-permanent-residence", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/content/001469199.pdf", "sourceLabel": "Immigration fee poster"},
    {"area": "Permanent residence", "procedure": "Permanent residence", "option": "Standard fee", "method": "Online", "fee": "No online fee: not on the agency's online list", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "The agency's list of online procedures, dated January 5, 2026, does not include permanent residence. The poster gives a counter fee only, and the online fee page gives no permanent residence amount.", "article": "residence-card-visa-fees", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/content/001351658.pdf", "sourceLabel": "Immigration online scope"},
    {"area": "Permanent residence", "procedure": "Permanent residence, reduced fee", "option": "Hardship and humanitarian need", "method": "At the counter", "fee": "20,000 yen", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Limited to spouses or children of Japanese nationals, permanent residents or special permanent residents, who also meet the hardship and humanitarian conditions. The online system does not support it.", "article": "residence-card-visa-fees", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/applications/faq/01_00650.html", "sourceLabel": "Immigration fee Q and A"},
    {"area": "Nationality", "procedure": "Naturalization application", "option": "Government fee", "method": "Legal Affairs Bureau", "fee": "None", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "The application itself is free. We did not verify the cost of documents, translations or professional help, so the total cost is unknown.", "article": "japan-naturalization-fee-vs-permanent-residence", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/ONLINE/NATIONALITY/6-2.html", "sourceLabel": "Ministry of Justice"},
    {"area": "Re-entry", "procedure": "Re-entry permit", "option": "Single", "method": "At the counter", "fee": "4,000 yen", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Listed on the agency's procedure page.", "article": "special-re-entry-permit-vs-re-entry-permit", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/immigration/procedures/16-5.html", "sourceLabel": "Immigration re-entry permit"},
    {"area": "Re-entry", "procedure": "Re-entry permit", "option": "Multiple", "method": "At the counter", "fee": "7,000 yen", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Listed on the agency's procedure page.", "article": "special-re-entry-permit-vs-re-entry-permit", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/immigration/procedures/16-5.html", "sourceLabel": "Immigration re-entry permit"},
    {"area": "Re-entry", "procedure": "Re-entry permit", "option": "Single", "method": "Online", "fee": "3,720 yen total: 3,500 yen fee + 220 yen transaction fee", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "You can file online only together with a change of status, an extension of stay or an acquisition of status.", "article": "special-re-entry-permit-vs-re-entry-permit", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/11_00107.html", "sourceLabel": "Immigration online fees"},
    {"area": "Re-entry", "procedure": "Re-entry permit", "option": "Multiple", "method": "Online", "fee": "6,720 yen total: 6,500 yen fee + 220 yen transaction fee", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "You can file online only together with a change of status, an extension of stay or an acquisition of status.", "article": "special-re-entry-permit-vs-re-entry-permit", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/11_00107.html", "sourceLabel": "Immigration online fees"},
    {"area": "Re-entry", "procedure": "Special re-entry", "option": "Return within the limit", "method": "At departure", "fee": "None listed on the agency's page", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "No advance application. See the rules for who cannot use it.", "article": "special-re-entry-permit-vs-re-entry-permit", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/immigration/procedures/minashisainyukoku_00001.html", "sourceLabel": "Immigration special re-entry"},
    {"area": "Visa and residence", "procedure": "Certificate of authorized employment", "option": "Standard fee", "method": "Online", "fee": "1,820 yen total: 1,600 yen fee + 220 yen transaction fee", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "We did not confirm the counter fee.", "article": "residence-card-visa-fees", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/11_00107.html", "sourceLabel": "Immigration online fees"},
    {"area": "ID cards", "procedure": "Specified residence card", "option": "Without electronic certificate", "method": "Immigration or city office", "fee": "2,500 yen by our sum: 1,900 yen + 600 yen for J-LIS", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "No fee applies in many cases, so check yours. If a city office arranges direct delivery, the agency fee is 2,600 yen, not 1,900 yen. Not available online.", "article": "my-number-card-foreigners", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/tokutei.html", "sourceLabel": "Immigration specified card"},
    {"area": "ID cards", "procedure": "Specified residence card", "option": "With electronic certificate", "method": "Immigration or city office", "fee": "2,700 yen: 1,900 yen + 800 yen for J-LIS", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "No fee applies in many cases, so check yours. The J-LIS notice splits its 800 yen into 600 yen for the My Number function and 200 yen for the certificate. With direct delivery arranged by a city office, it gives 3,400 yen in total. Not available online.", "article": "my-number-card-foreigners", "source": "https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/content/001464468.pdf", "sourceLabel": "J-LIS fee notice"},
    {"area": "ID cards", "procedure": "My Number Card", "option": "First card", "method": "Online, by mail or city office", "fee": "Free", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Digital Agency, Gifu City and the official site's FAQ say free. Our reading tool reported a 1,000 yen issue fee on the official site's front page, which the FAQ contradicts, so we use free.", "article": "my-number-card-foreigners", "source": "https://www.digital.go.jp/en/policies/mynumber/pros-and-safety", "sourceLabel": "Digital Agency"},
    {"area": "ID cards", "procedure": "My Number Card", "option": "Renewal of the card or certificate", "method": "Not stated", "fee": "Free", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "For most foreign residents the card ends with your period of stay, so plan to update it.", "article": "my-number-card-foreigners", "source": "https://www.digital.go.jp/en/policies/mynumber/expiration-date", "sourceLabel": "Digital Agency"},
    {"area": "ID cards", "procedure": "My Number Card", "option": "Reissue, such as a lost card", "method": "Not stated", "fee": "800 yen, plus 200 yen for the certificate", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "The official site's Japanese FAQ says a reissue for loss or damage is charged, and sends you to your city for the amount. Kobe, Inagi and Tsukuba all show 800 yen + 200 yen. Kobe lists free cases and an express fee of 1,800 yen + 200 yen.", "article": "my-number-card-foreigners", "source": "https://www.city.kobe.lg.jp/a53715/mnc/tesuryo.html", "sourceLabel": "Kobe City"},
    {"area": "ID cards", "procedure": "My Number Card", "option": "Reissue after the card lapses", "method": "Not stated", "fee": "1,000 yen", "evidence": "Sources conflict", "note": "Otaru City. This may be the same charge as 800 yen + 200 yen. The official site's FAQ says reissue is free if validity has expired. Ask your city office.", "article": "my-number-card-foreigners", "source": "https://www.city.otaru.lg.jp/docs/2024112500010/", "sourceLabel": "Otaru City"},
    {"area": "ID cards", "procedure": "My Number Card", "option": "Renewal at expiry or unavoidable reissue", "method": "Not stated", "fee": "Free. A reissue for loss or damage is charged.", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "From the official site's Japanese FAQ. For a foreign resident's card that lapsed, see the Otaru row, which still differs.", "article": "my-number-card-foreigners", "source": "https://www.kojinbango-card.go.jp/faq_apply13/", "sourceLabel": "My Number Card FAQ (Japanese)"},
    {"area": "Driver's license", "procedure": "Foreign license conversion, application", "option": "Ordinary car", "method": "At the test center", "fee": "2,500 yen", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Tokyo, Yamaguchi, Tottori and Nagano agree. Fees are set locally. Osaka, Kanagawa and Hokkaido pages give no amounts. A search excerpt of older Yamaguchi and Wakayama material showed 2,200 yen.", "article": "japan-driver-license-conversion-cost", "source": "https://www.keishicho.metro.tokyo.lg.jp/menkyo/menkyo/kokugai/kokugai05.html", "sourceLabel": "Tokyo Metropolitan Police"},
    {"area": "Driver's license", "procedure": "Foreign license conversion, application", "option": "Large, medium or semi-medium", "method": "At the test center", "fee": "3,900 yen", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Tokyo and Yamaguchi list this. Fees are set locally, so ask your test center.", "article": "japan-driver-license-conversion-cost", "source": "https://www.keishicho.metro.tokyo.lg.jp/menkyo/menkyo/kokugai/kokugai05.html", "sourceLabel": "Tokyo Metropolitan Police"},
    {"area": "Driver's license", "procedure": "Foreign license conversion, application", "option": "Moped", "method": "At the test center", "fee": "1,600 yen", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Tokyo lists this. Yamaguchi lists the same fee for mopeds and small special licenses.", "article": "japan-driver-license-conversion-cost", "source": "https://www.keishicho.metro.tokyo.lg.jp/menkyo/menkyo/kokugai/kokugai05.html", "sourceLabel": "Tokyo Metropolitan Police"},
    {"area": "Driver's license", "procedure": "Foreign license conversion, application", "option": "Other types", "method": "At the test center", "fee": "2,800 yen", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Tokyo and Yamaguchi list this. Fees are set locally, so ask your test center.", "article": "japan-driver-license-conversion-cost", "source": "https://www.keishicho.metro.tokyo.lg.jp/menkyo/menkyo/kokugai/kokugai05.html", "sourceLabel": "Tokyo Metropolitan Police"},
    {"area": "Driver's license", "procedure": "Foreign license conversion, extra type", "option": "Each additional license type", "method": "At the test center", "fee": "200 yen", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Yamaguchi says each additional type when applying for two or more. Tokyo lists 200 yen as an endorsement fee.", "article": "japan-driver-license-conversion-cost", "source": "https://www.pref.yamaguchi.lg.jp/site/police/193287.html", "sourceLabel": "Yamaguchi Police"},
    {"area": "Driver's license", "procedure": "Foreign license conversion, issuance", "option": "License card", "method": "At the test center", "fee": "2,350 yen", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Tokyo, Yamaguchi, Gifu, Tottori and Nagano agree.", "article": "japan-driver-license-conversion-cost", "source": "https://www.keishicho.metro.tokyo.lg.jp/menkyo/menkyo/kokugai/kokugai05.html", "sourceLabel": "Tokyo Metropolitan Police"},
    {"area": "Driver's license", "procedure": "Foreign license conversion, issuance", "option": "On a My Number Card only", "method": "At the test center", "fee": "1,550 yen", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Yamaguchi, May 2026. We found this on no other police page, so ask your test center.", "article": "japan-driver-license-conversion-cost", "source": "https://www.pref.yamaguchi.lg.jp/site/police/193287.html", "sourceLabel": "Yamaguchi Police"},
    {"area": "Driver's license", "procedure": "Foreign license conversion, issuance", "option": "Both cards", "method": "At the test center", "fee": "2,450 yen", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Yamaguchi, May 2026. We found this on no other police page, so ask your test center.", "article": "japan-driver-license-conversion-cost", "source": "https://www.pref.yamaguchi.lg.jp/site/police/193287.html", "sourceLabel": "Yamaguchi Police"},
    {"area": "Driver's license", "procedure": "Foreign license conversion, vehicle use", "option": "If tests are needed, Aichi and Gifu", "method": "At the test center", "fee": "800 yen, making 3,300 yen with the 2,500 yen application fee", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Aichi's July 2026 guide shows 2,500 yen + 800 yen = 3,300 yen for an ordinary car. Gifu's April 2026 page shows the same 3,300 yen total with vehicle use, so 3,300 yen is not added on top of 2,500 yen.", "article": "japan-driver-license-conversion-cost", "source": "https://www.pref.aichi.jp/police/menkyo/tetsuzuki/menkyoshiken/images/gaimen.pdf", "sourceLabel": "Aichi Police"},
    {"area": "Driver's license", "procedure": "Foreign license conversion, vehicle use", "option": "If tests are needed, Tottori", "method": "At the test center", "fee": "1,750 yen", "evidence": "Sources conflict", "note": "The Tottori page is undated and lists this under ordinary cars. Aichi and Gifu show 800 yen for an ordinary car, and Aichi lists 1,750 yen for other license types. Ask your test center.", "article": "japan-driver-license-conversion-cost", "source": "https://www.pref.tottori.lg.jp/34987.htm", "sourceLabel": "Tottori Prefecture"},
    {"area": "Driver's license", "procedure": "Japanese license translation, JAF", "option": "For conversion", "method": "Not stated", "fee": "6,600 yen with tax", "evidence": "Official page", "note": "Not a government fee. JAF's notice gives 6,600 yen for conversion from July 1, 2026, and 6,000 yen before that. Other translators may be accepted. Check before you pay.", "article": "japan-driver-license-conversion-cost", "source": "https://jaf.or.jp/common/news/2026/20260625-001", "sourceLabel": "JAF notice"}
  ]
}
